Darryl Nash – Interview

  • How did you get your initial start in music? My initial start to music was when I was in infant school and a guy called Pau used to bully me and a friend. When Green Day released the ‘American Idiot’ album we started an air band at the back of the playground and Pau and I got into a argument of who was going to be the drummer of our band. As the day finished I went home and convinced my mum to buy me my first ever drum kit from Argos because I promised my teacher at the time that I already played and she suggested that I should show my skills in the morning assembly. Ever since I loved playing the drums and continued it throughout my early years of being at school. The drums is what then later introduced me to different genres of music and different instruments which then lead me to playing as many as I could get my hands on!

 

  • What would be your ultimate aim in the industry? The ultimate aim for me in the music industry would be to become a successful artist which could create music that people could connect too, however at the moment I am just experiencing the in’s and out’s of the industry and I find it fascinating!

 

  • How long have you been writing your own music? I started writing my own music just last year, that would be solely me working on everything from guitars to drum beats and vocal melodies, however I had been writing in a collective/band years before and still do from time to time.

 

  • Who are your top three influences and why? My top inspiration  would have to be Gary Barlow. As a solo artist, Gary knows how to write a good song, lyrical or instrumentally. When I listen to the melodies of his vocal lines, he always produces a catchy and distinctive tune that stands out to me. I always try to use that in my own music as the vocal melody is what sells the track in pop/rock. Another inspiration of mine would have to be Rufus Wainwright. When Rufas writes his songs they are based around the piano, this is something I do, especially on tracks such as ‘Love Sick’ and ‘Headache’. Rufas also uses a lot of falsetto in his singing which stands out to me too, In-fact, I think in every song of mine on the album I use falsetto. The last person I look up to would have to be Lady Gaga, from her stage presence, energy and electric synths in her music captivates the human ear, even if they are not a fan, you know a Gaga song when it’s played. The reason I like Gaga a lot is because she can keep delivering song and song using the same vibe, but can make each song sound completely different. The dance vibe especially she gives off is something I find extremely helpful in selling a song.

 

  • Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release? ‘Love Sick’ is coming out on May 6th 2016, and is available for purchase on ITunes, Spotify, Google Play, Amazon and Big Cartel.

 

  • Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favorite venues? I’m based in Portsmouth and the music scene is strong and has been for a while now, with local studio helping to create a vibe for youth the music scene on the south coast is defiantly upcoming. My favorite venue to play has to be ‘The Joiners’ based in Southampton where people like, oasis, take that and green day have all played.

 

  • Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to? A good band I am close to is ‘The Flat Cap Cats’ from Portsmouth. They play covers from punk to rock and  Jazz, so quite a mix…

 

 

Untitled-3

Leave a Reply

