W.A.L.E – Interview

WALE pic

  • How did you get your initial start in music?

W.A.L.E. is a project that came about as a result of dealing with personal loss. Impelled by the passing of one of my friends, I recorded my first album. His friend, who used to be a drummer, was initially planning on recording together with myself. When illness got in the way, I decided to make my first record as a tribute to him. It was then he met the musician and producer Joos in a studio in Amsterdam.

  • What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

I know how important music can be at different times…at sad moments but also in many good memories.

If people can find enjoyment or comfort throughout our music….that would be a great achievement.

  • How long have you been writing your own music?

Since I started to play guitar I always played whatever came to my mind.

Every time something new…

So almost each the time I forgot the next day what I created the day before but…it always gave me a great way to express my feelings at all times!

I started to record songs around the year 1999-2000.

Joos van Leeuwen and myself teamed up together since the 1st album of the Early Grey Band…(seconds away) back in 2001-2002 and we became close friends since then..and started W.A.L.E. together!

  • Who are your top three influences and why?

Well there are so many good bands over the years but to name only 3 is quite difficult.

(I also like mention Bowie, Rolling Stones, Beatles, Dylan, Jimi Hendrix, Steve Ray Vaughn, Simple Minds, Talking Heads, Lou Reed, Eric Clapton, Paul McCartney,

Led Zeppelin, Status Quo, Faces, Frank Zappa, Tom Petty, Radiohead,  Oasis, Michael Jackson, Mick Ronson and so many more.)

A:

John Lennon:

For his great melodies, wonderful lyrics, great inspiration and above all..his view on life.

B:

Pink Floyd:

In my opinion the Wall is one of the greatest stories in music history.

Their performances always have been breath-taking.

The perfection of expressing …is in this album 100%.

C:

Midnight Oil:

The first time I went to Australia back in 1983 I heard their album 10,9,8,7,6,5,4,3,2,1.

It was a mind blowing experience, the use of their guitars, the voice of Peter Garrett…the energy of their songs went through the bone.

  • Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

After the making of our 1st album “Tokyo Girl” we had the chance to do this project “Come Together” with Mick Wilson from 10CC.

“Come Together” turned out into a great mix of music which takes you into different moods and styles.

Great guitar works by Erwin van Ligten and Tony Hallinan.

The magic bass of Marcel Schimscheimer and the strong drums of Declan Muldoon made it into an album with that little extra!!

  • Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

Some good venues in Amsterdam are The Milky Way, Paradiso, Panama, Ziggo, Heineken Music Hall, Maloe Melo..

  • Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

Douwe Bob…a dutch singer songwriter…great talent!

Google this guy..!!

  • Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

https://soundcloud.com/oosvaneeuwen/sets/wale-come-together

https://www.facebook.com/Onofficiële-WALE-1279806322046064/timeline?ref=page_internal

Leave a Reply

