Interview With PENNY MOB!

J: – Jamie Quinn (Lead Vocals, Guitar, Songwriter)

M: – Matt Manning (Guitar, Bass, Vocals)

A: – Andrew Mullan (Drums, Vocals)

Pic 36

  1. How did you get your initial start in music?

J: I think it was in primary school, one of the teachers used to play guitar to us, and we’d all sing along. I think he only knew about two songs though to be honest, “Do You Wanna Be A Spaceman” by Oasis, and “Football Crazy”. He then started a weekly guitar club to teach us all how to play, so we all went and bought our first guitars. I got kicked out after about a week though for being a little shit, but I remember being determined to learn, so I used to get my mates chord sheets every week, and go and photocopy them down at the local video shop, and that was how I ended up teaching myself to play.

M: I first fell into music about aged 10 from following Wilko Johnson around as relatives worked for him. This was well before his deserved resurgence to fame. I have memories of him teaching me my first chords on his telecaster and how to play the riff on Dr Feelgood’s “She Does it Right” At the time I remember being more interested in playing with a flight simulator that he had.

A: I started drumming as a kid, around 8, and I think I was probably the only drummer – or close enough – in my school/village or whatever. I ended up a bit older playing with groups just because drummers were a bit harder to come by and that sort of turned into a love of playing with bands. By the time I moved to London at 18, it was kind of a no brainer to it carry on.

  1. What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

J: To write music that connects with people, and that will hopefully stand the test of time and have a timeless quality, I think thats always the aim for any songwriter really. And of course, to inspire people, kids especially, to go out and do it themselves, whether it be writing music, or anything they wanna do in life. To project as positive a message as we can, to make people believe in themselves, and believe that anythings possible.

M: To give other young people a feeling of hope, and paid jobs working for us out on the road.

A: I think for me, there’s so much stagnation in the music scene; people being pumped the same repetitive beats and samples with lyrics that sound like a ‘generic word generator’ app that I’m sick to death with the music charts. I didn’t feel the need to play in a band professionally anymore when [Penny Mob frontman] Jamie asked me if I was interested; it was only when I heard how politically charged and adrenal Jay’s music was that I was totally game. I think that’s it for me. Catchy, aggressive stuff. The aim? To play to as many people as we can, all around the world, who get something from our music.

  1. How long have you been writing your own music?

J: I started writing songs when I was about sixteen, in fact, I’ve still got a few of them left over from that period, but obviously you get better as you get older. I then stopped for a few years, but started up again when I finally made the decision to form Penny Mob. I was watching the Brit Awards and remember thinking enough was enough. Modern music just seemed to me so bland and soulless. I thought it needed a kick up the arse. I couldn’t see any bands in the mainstream that were inspiring, or who were like the bands that inspired me growing up. So I decided there and then that I wanted to start a band, and that we would be committed to injecting some life and soul back into music, and inspire future generations.

M: Since I joined Penny Mob as bassist and guitarist in August 2015.

A: Since never really! Haha. I tend to come up with the ornamentation and harmonies for Penny Mob, that’s enough for me.

  1. Who are your top three influences and why?

J: If I had to chose three guitar bands, I’d probably say The Beatles, The La’s, and The Kinks. And for me it always comes down to one thing – melody. They write great melodies. But I’ve got so many influences as a songwriter, it’s hard to pin point. I remember as a kid my mum would always dance around to Ben E King and the Drifters, so their music has always stayed with me my whole life. I’m interested in and take influence from all sorts of genres though, I love soul music, and some dance music as well. But guys like Lennon, McCartney, Ray Davies, Townsend, Brian Wilson, Lee Mavers, John Power, those guys have been a big influence on me.

M: As a guitar/bass player, I would say my top three influences are The Velvet Underground, Radiohead, and Sunhouse.

A: F*cking Hell, there’s a question. Erm, I really have tried to shake it up with my musical influences and break away from getting stuck down a rabbit hole of one sort or another. Whenever I feel myself getting caught up too much in one thing, I’ll start asking around for something else to find inspiration.

  1. Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

J: It’s a double A side release, called “War On The Streets” and “Mr Generation”. They’re available to download and stream online.

M: Buy it, I’m skint!

  1. Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

J: We’re based in North London. Although there are a lot of great bands all over London, they’re not really getting a chance to be heard, as most of the music thats in the charts at the moment is dominated by generic, manufactured pop.

M: North London. Well places like Brixton and Peckham seem to have a healthy music scene based out of venues like The Windmill, and The Bussey Building. Holloway seems to have died on its arse in the past five years. Three key London venues all based on Holloway Road: The Twelve Bar Club, The Den, and Buffalo Bar have all closed killing much of the local scene with it. A key reason for starting up Penny Mob is to renew a local scene.

A: We’re London based so it’s pretty handy to have plenty of variety; I used to love the Hideaway in Holloway, they held an amazing open mic night there (probably still do. Just haven’t been in an age). The kind of place where people whispered to order a pint. All about the music.To be fair, North London is kinda the best. Archway, Holloway – it produces a lot of great bands. Although, for me, the dream venue to play still has to be Brixton Academy.

  1. Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

M: Mummy, New Street Adventure, Garda

A: I think just because they were both artists that I knew from back home as a kid, then suddenly shot up in my radar after years of radio silence (so to speak) between us; Ducking Punches [Dan Allen] are great. So’s Captain Backfire [Rob Gilbert].

  1. Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

You can listen to our music here – https://soundcloud.com/pennymob

You can keep up to date with us on Facebook  –  https://www.facebook.com/pennymobband

Follow us on Twitter –  https://twitter.com/PennyMob

and Instagram – – https://www.instagram.com/penny_mob

 

Leave a Reply

