Get to know ‘Young Malak’

  1. How did you get your initial start in music?

I’ve always been listening to and around music since before i was old enough to remember.  My earliest days growing up when i was around 2-4 years old I loved listening to Tupac, Snoop Dogg, Michael Jackson, and even just hearing songs like teen spirit or come as you are by Nirvana on the radio. My mom moved me to Virginia when I was 6 and even my first time entering Va i remember hearing stuff on the radio by Eminem, Dmx, Pharrell, and so much more new things I had never heard anything like until then. All through elementary I had thousands of Cds becoming a music nerd to say the least just getting my hands on pretty much any rap or hip hop I could at the time. Once I got around to high school everything changed and i began to open my horizons to music my mom grew up on such as John Lennon, Black Sabbath, Rush, and basically everything my peers around me at the time were not into. High school was basically the start of my official music path and where I first began recording music. 10th grade I joined a rap ground named Next Generation Entertainment. One of my good friends I Knew had began hanging out with a few people who had their own rap group and equipment. One day he brought me over to a guy named Denzel’s house DKG “who is also still a good friend of mine” and i began recording music. Ive always had millions of lyrics written and DKG had the beats so we would knock down like 3-6 songs sometimes in one day. We all sounded terrible at the time but in the moment thought we were the dopest things on the planet. Later i left the group to start my own which soon became “The Keyz” and ever since I’ve been an artist/producer.

 

  1. What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

To become a not just one of the greats or music legends but to be remembered when its all said and done as the guy who came from nothing to creating everything he could ever imagine plus more.

 

  1. How long have you been writing your own music?

Since about 2nd grade, lyrics and poetry, I’ve gotten into beat making also these past two years more so 2016. Not only do i love the song writing but i love the engineering and producing side of things just as much. To me they just go hand and hand.

 

  1. Who are your top three influences and why?

Jimi Hendrix, John lennon, Jim Morrison, They all were so ahead of their time with there music and art and not only that but were more then the music. The music reflected who they were and sometimes i feel some artists now days lose that and music becomes and act or a show instead of expression and personality. Great examples of artists more so in the present that influence and inspire me are Pharrell Williams “also from Va Beach” , Kanye West, Dr. Dre, Kid Cudi, Tyler The Creator, they all represent music that is true and themselves which artistically makes them stand out more so then others i believe. And i believe not only myself but all of us “The Keyz” represent that as well.

 

  1. Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

Young Malak “The Messenger” is My first Solo project. It will be available 4/21/2016 online everywhere for Free, Tidal, Spotify, Bandcamp, Datpiff.com, Soundcloud, Reverbnation, Facebook, as well as Youtube. This project is self produced as well as engineered and i feel now more then ever I’m getting closer to the sound of the messenger I’m putting across.

 

  1. Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

Im From Virginia Beach, Virginia. Obviously theres been a ton of Musical geniuses to sprout from Va, Pharrell, Missy elliot, Timbaland, Pusha T, Trey songs, Chris brown, even last year D.R.A.M blew up with the Cha Cha song. But Locally its like the big cities around here, its more low key with things. Lots of talent but not much of a music scene. Even the radios around here rarely play Virginia music anymore even though its a swimming pool filled with talent all over Hampton roads and the 757. My favorite venues have to be The amphitheater “even though its not called that anymore” and The Norva.  Ive yet to play at The Norva but I’ve been to hundreds of events and shows there. I have had the Chance of performing at the amphitheater  last year for Shaggfest 2015.

 

  1. Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

Man like i said its tons of talent and everyone in Va has a complete different sound then the next artist. But Obviously D.R.A.M i heard is working on new stuff so look out for that but also check out Live Shameless, DKG, LMG, Breezepark, Leo Brixx, Mike Strong, and so much others i can’t even think of right now but Just check out Virginia music in general and you might fight your new favorite artists.

 

  1. Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

Check us out on youtube Just type In The Keyz or Young Malak or Click This link below

Also Check us out on Reverbnation, Soundcloud, Facebook, Follow us on twitter, check out our releases on spotify, iTunes, band camp, Google play, apple music, and 4/21/2016 don’t forget to check out Young Malak “The Messenger” on Tidal and everywhere else online.

Leave a Reply

