Interview with Pink Fireball

 

  1. How did you get your initial start in music?

Thomas Nowak (vocals and guitar) : When I was about 7/8 years old I heard « Satisfaction » by the Rolling Stones. When I understood that sound was made by using a guitar, I started using a tennis racket for a few years (which at the time was much cooler than playing « air guitar ») until I got my mum to buy me a cheap « classical » nylon string guitar after a few years, which didn’t help at all to play much rock n roll, but it was a start …

 

  1. What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

To be able to record and release one album every year or so, make great videos for it, and play some great big shows like Peter Gabriel or David Bowie … But right now if I could just quit my day job to make music, that would be pretty great already !

 

  1. How long have you been writing your own music?

When I was about 18 years I wrote an incredibly cheesy song called « woman from the abbys » for a summer school program I did at LIPA (Liverpool Institute for Performing Arts). Based on a true story about a Brazilian waitress I had some ‘misfortunes’ with. I guess the music which was something between « enter sandman » (Metallica) and « Sunshine of Your Love » (Cream), wasn’t so bad because people really cheered to it when I sang it at the Paul McCartney Auditorium.

I have been writing tunes ever since. Hopefully they got a little better after a while.

 

  1. Who are your top three influences and why?

Jimi Hendrix : not only for his guitar playing obviously, but also for songwriting and the incredible sonic experimentations he did both in the studio and live. He was constantly innovating in everything he did, it seems.

Motörhead : Lemmy is one of my heroes and inspirations for many reasons. He was the ultimate rock n roller, unique, rebellious, uncompromising, lyrics-wise definitely an influence as well … One can only admire the band’s incredibly prolific carrer. Incidentally Fast Eddie Clark is one of my favorite guitar players.

The Beatles : For their genius and artistic freedom… They were also the prophets of the 20th century, and with all that’s happening in the world right now, we definitely miss someone like John Lennon, speaking for peace and for the people !

 

These are some of my influences, but my bandmates would tell things like : Nine Inch Nails, Joy Division, Interpol, Mike Patton, King Crimson, Tame Impala, etc. I guess I am the « retro » guy in the band.

 

  1. Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

The video for our first single « Turn Around »  is now available on youtube. On May 6th, this song will be released on all top download and streaming sites, along with its B-side track called « First Class» which will also have a video for it released then. Both songs, will be available soon as a limited edition 7 inch vinyl record. The release date for our first album which will be called « Fine Rock N’ Roll Music » will be announced soon.

 

  1. Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

The band is based in Paris, but we’re currently recording our album at NPM studios in London. We are waiting its completion by the end of Spring to start playing shows in both cities, so we don’t have a favorite venue yet.

 

  1. Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

I like a band from the Paris area called Barrakuda, they’re straight in your face rock n roll, with a punk attitude. They have some great songs, that should be out soon, I hope.

 

  1. Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

We are very active on Facebook and twitter, so that’s the best way to follow us right now. We have a tumblr, and you can also subscribe to our youtube, and streaming sites pages. Thanks for the support ! 

 

Leave a Reply

