An introduction to Andrea Di-Giovanni

How did you get your initial start in music?

It all started when I was very young, my first piano lesson was at 4yo. It developed into singing also around the age of 8 and then turned into my life around the age of 18. Moving to the UK was though probably what got me massively into performing live with a band and songwriting.

What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

My aim is to help people who went through a very hard time in discovering and accepting themselves for who they really are. I hope that sharing my personal experience and what I’ve learned, can give relief and a friend that knows how it feels to be unaccepted and misunderstood.

How long have you been writing your own music?

I wrote my very first original when I was 16yo in Italian but the very first song I wrote in English is the second single and it happened 3 years ago. From there on I never stopped really.

Who are your top three influences and why?

I listen to all kind of music so it’s very hard for me to pick three but if I had to, they will surely be Sam Smith, Jess Glynne and Jessie J, each one of them for different reasons. I was very impressed by Sam’s lyrics and way of delivering his emotions, very raw and pure; the very 80’s background mixed up with nowadays electronic sounds it’s what I love about Jess Glynne and the incredible vocal technique and ability is what brought me close to Jessie J.

Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

It’s my first single, something quite new from what I normally used to do. It will be followed up by a second single in June and then the EP in July. You’ll get to know very different angles of my soul and a very deep journey into some significant relationshipsI’ve been into in the past couple of years. I don’t wanna say too much as I don’t wanna ruin the surprise!

Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

I’m based in London, in the Fulham area. Here’s it’s full of talented amazing singer/songwriters and it’s so inspiring. From metal to techno, singer/songwriters to powerhouse bands, you get a bite of everything really and it helps keeping your mind wide open.

Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

Apart from me, I’d say Becky Arundel, INA SHAI and STORME.

Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

You can hear more of me on my website (www.andreadigiovanni.it/en), my youtube channel (https://www.youtube.com/user/andreadigiovannioff) and my facebook artist page (http://facebook.com/andreadigiovannimusic).

 

 

Leave a Reply

