Irontown Diehards Interview

  1. How did you get your initial start in music?

I’ve been playing bass since I was 11 years old, my friends had started a band and there were already 2 guitar players and a drummer. My best friend’s older brother taught me how to read tabs and taught me my first couple of songs to get me started. I didn’t actually get my first bass until I was 12 so if I wanted to play bass I had to go to my friend’s house, in the meantime I would practise on an old classical guitar we had in the house!

  1. What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

One foot in front of the other. I try not to think about an “ultimate aim” and rather set one goal and move towards it, once completed set a new one. At the moment the goal is to get the album out to as many people as humanly possible, after that who knows?

  1. How long have you been writing your own music?

I’ve been playing in bands doing original material since I was 17, it’s not easy making that change from learning other people’s music to writing your own. I would liken it to when a child is learning how to talk, they start by imitating their parents and then the other kids around before they start to find their own voice.

  1. Who are your top three influences and why?

Influences are a strange thing. I can tell you straight off that my 3 biggest influences are John Paul Jones of Led Zeppelin, Flea from the Red Hot Chili Peppers and Billy Sheehan from Mr. Big. All 3 are exceptional world class bass players but their individual roles in their 3 bands are so different. I also don’t necessarily think that influences will always translate into the music you play, the 3 bands I’ve just mentioned probably wouldn’t who would spring to mind if you listened to The Irontown Diehards or even my bass playing. But they’re always the 3 I come back to and the ones who I’d most like to emulate.

  1. Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

That it’s awesome! Out of the 4 members of the band this is the first album I’ve been on. I’ve done Eps before but this is my first ever album and that feeling of all that effort and work to put in is such a satisfying thing when you get the end result and I honestly think that people are going to really enjoy it.

  1. Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

We’re all from Belfast, Northern Ireland. A wonderful city with a shall we say…..coloured past? Asides from that there are some legendary venues here, the Ulster Hall has so much musical history. It was there that Led Zeppelin first played Stairway to Heaven and Black Dog live. The city has a great pedigree in music not just rock but across all genres.

  1. Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

There’s quite a few! I’d like to give a shout out to our dear friend Steve Moore playing in Stormzone and Fireland who are just fantastic. The rest can speak for themselves!

  1. Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

Like us on facebook, follow us on twitter. Our videos are on youtube and the album will be available on iTunes, amazon and Spotify from 27th May!

Leave a Reply

