Francesco – Interview!

1 of us_jpg COVER SINGLE_HOME (2)

How did you get your initial start in music?

I started to play piano when I was 5 and I had my first rock band at 12.

What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

To sign with a good recording company and reach number one in the UK charts.

How long have you been writing your own music?

I think you can learn music, but you cannot learn how to write your own feelings. All composers were born composers, so, I guess, you could say, I’ve been writing my own music all my life.

Who are your top three influences and why?

When I was a kid I was crazy for Keith Emerson, for his Hammond and his Moog. He was a kind of transition from classical music to pop-rock music for me. He’s been a great Maestro for me.

Then Bowie…unattainable … He has been able to transcend the music beyond music itself. Combining it with painting, poetry and dance. Pure Art.

And I really love Phil Collins. He made a long musical journey. The meloharmonic solutions of his songs are brilliant and at the same time permeated by lightness and irony. He is great! I even wrote a song (a month ago) which is entitled: I WOULD LIKE TO BE PHIL COLLINS” !! (Phil, I put you in the midst of artists who have passed away, knocking on wood for you of course!)

Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

I would tell people that, despite the difficulties that each of us encounters in life, when everything seems to prove otherwise, you should never stop dreaming. This release is my little dream come true.

Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

I live in a small town on the Adriatic sea in Northern Italy. The coast is rocky and a sheer drop down to the sea, the wind that blows in from the north,  the Bora, is a local feature. I love it, takes the clouds away.

Then I really do like Austria, which is only an hour or so away. I have a small shelter up in the mountains. Austrians are reserved but very friendly. Last but not least, for the people, the culture, the mentality, for the city itself, I love London – that would have to be my local venue..

Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

I Highly recommend myself of course. Seriously, I must say that the region in which I live has produced many good musicians, far above the average. The reason, in my opinion, lies in the mix of cultures that have cohabited here for centuries: an Italian, Slavic and German mix that have left a legacy of a particular musical sensibility.

Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

Where can you find me? Go to my web site : www.1ofus.co.uk. To find me in person, I’m often on the plane between London and Trieste

You can find Francesco’s music video premiere here:

http://www.music-news.com/news/UK/96931/Headline?noCache=true

 

Leave a Reply

