Get to know Andy Meadows

  1. How did you get your initial start in music?

My dad led the music at our church and he’d get me up to sing specials. I always liked singing in church because even if you mess up everybody’s nice about it.

  1. What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

I just want to build a big enough fan base so that I can take my big band on international tours and continue making the kind of records I want to make, that’s the only thing I really aspire to do. That and maybe owning private jet and a yacht or two.

  1. How long have you been writing your own music?

I wrote my first song at maybe 16 or so, but I was probably 18 or 19 before I wrote a song that wasn’t terrible.

  1. Who are your top three influences and why?

Frank Sinatra for his voice, his incredible phrasing and his ability to command an audience. Ray Benson of Asleep at the Wheel who helped make Western Swing music relevant again. Bruce Robison, who I think is the greatest songwriter on the planet.

  1. Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

It’s a good song to listen if you’re about to fall in love and you want to know what it’s like or if you’ve ever fallen in love before and you want to reminisce about it while listening to a blend of jazz, country and swing.

  1. Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

I’m based out of Fort Worth, Texas where the music scene has been steadily growing for years. We have some amazing live music venues like the Live Oak Music Hall, the Stagecoach Ballroom, Scatt Jazz Lounge and the world’s largest honky-tonk Billy Bob’s Texas.

  1. Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

Tatiana Mayfield, who’s a phenomenal jazz vocalist. Kayley Nell a young up and coming singer/songwriter who writes as well as she sings. Leon Bridges, who of course has already started to blow up but just two years ago I saw him playing in a local dive bar here in Fort Worth and I was blown away by his throwback style and soulful lyrics.

  1. Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

You can hear all my music at www.andymeadows.net or ITunes, CDBaby, Amazon, or pretty much anywhere music is sold or streamed online.

 

Leave a Reply

