Get to know: Alan Bonner

IMG_4192 a

  1. How did you get your initial start in music?

I started playing singing and playing music in my teens but It was when I went to The Brighton Institute of Modern Music in my early 20’s that I really started taking  it seriously. I lived there for a couple of years and it was there that I made and self released my first album and considered myself a musician for the first time. Brighton will always have a special place in my heart because of that.

  1. What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

I guess my aim is to keep making music and to get it out to as wider an audience as possible. Its a difficult time for the music industry and making a living from music is harder now than it ever was. I would just like to be able to book a tour and know that people will come because I have an audience. I’m not particularly bothered about being crazy famous I’d just like to be successful and self – sufficient as an artist. 

  1. How long have you been writing your own music?

I wrote my first song when I was about 14 and played it in my music class at school. It was called “A Reason to Believe” and it was truly fucking terrible. I’ve been writing (better songs hopefully) ever since.

  1. Who are your top three influences and why?

1) Bowie- I grew up listening to him and like a lot of queer kids for own generation and the one before me he made you feel like it was ok to be different. He was a visionary and there will never be anyone else quite like him. I feel lucky to have been on the planet at the same time that he was.

2) Tori Amos – She is criminally underrated and is often overlooked but when I was 16 and I first heard “From the Choirgirl Hotel” I knew I had to find a piano (even though I couldn’t  play for shit at the time and start writing songs

3) Sufjan Stevens- I sound nothing like him and possess only the tiniest fraction of his talent – but he is vulnerable and honest in his songwriting in a way that I am always striving to be in my own. 

  1. Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

The concept for Night Music came to me around summer 2013 I had been on tour in America for my last album and while that in experience in itself was a lot of fun, I was suffering terrible  bout of writers block, and my confidence as a songwriter was waning. 

When I returned home I began to notice people around London at night time. Lonely disaffected seeming characters. An old lady on a night  bus at 3 in the morning with a far away look in her eye talking to herself out loud. Prostitutes walking the streets in Finsbury Park looking for business. A man weeping into his phone in a bus stop because his lover had left him.  Over that summer I began to notice these nocturnal creatures who took to the streets and the bars when the sun went down over London. People that were lost and lonely, people that the rest of society had all too happily forgotten.  The album is really inspired by London and its nocturnal inhabitance with a few melodrama’s from my own life thrown in as well. I  made the album with my friend and producer Aneek Thapar who is a genius  production wise its quite cinematic and the most electronic thing I’ve ever done.  I think its my best work and I’m really proud of it. I hope it’s well received. I guess time will tell…

  1. Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues? I’m usually based in London. My favourite venues there are Ronnie Scott’s and The Troubadour. I love playing those places because so many greats have played there before me, Also The Union Chapel because its beautiful and really intimate. I’m yet to play yet there though, so if anyone from their team is reading this, please book me! I’ve spent the last few months living and playing around Berlin in all these great smokey little bars. My favourites of these so far are Laksmi Bar and Madame Claude in Kruezberg and Tik Nord in Fr
  1. Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to? My pal Paul Diello is an English Musician also living in Berlin who does kind of 80’s inspired piano pop and his voice is a wondrous thing. Jon Campbell is a queer alt country singer who lives down the street from me and he’s just put out his first EP. Definitely worth checking out.
  1. Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

My new album “Night Music” will be out on iTunes, amazon, spottily and all other digital music retailers worldwide on 27th May with the first single “Always Tomorrow” out May 6th and my back catalogue is also available now as well, or you can follow me on social media or my webiste on the links below

www.alanbonnermusic.com

www.facebook,com/ALANBONNERMUSIC

www.soundcloud.com/ALANBONNERMUSIC

www.youtube.com/AlanBonnerMusic

 

Leave a Reply

