Get to Know: Adam Lanceley

Press Release pic 2

  1. How did you get your initial start in music?

I suppose I found my way to the music industry by accident, really – not to say that I didn’t always think it was a cool thing to be doing – more that regretably I just didn’t think I had the skills to do anything in the business. I was at a loose end after I’d realised that East 15 Acting School wasn’t really suited to me & I left. One of the other people who worked at a bar where I had a part time job was a musician who taught the guitar amongst other instruments & he suggested I should take it up. I realised quite quickly to my disappointment I wasn’t going to find I was a naturally gifted guitarist! This probably had a lot to do with poor fine motor skills I’ve got due to a chronic head injury. I did though, find that I wanted to write down feelings I found hard to express & give my own unique signature tune to. A friend of mine from college prior to this was a sound engineer & the rest is history!

  1. What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

My ultimate aim in the music industry I think would just be to gain some recognition for everything I’ve been through (car crash, anorexia, etc.) & also to hope that the words I’ve written along with the music that accompanies them will touch or mean something to other people who hear it.

  1. How long have you been writing your own music?

I’ve been writing down my thoughts & trying to write the kind of music that’ll suit them best to put together as a song for about 15 years now.

  1. Who are your top three influences and why?

My 3 biggest influences in music have to be first & foremost The Beach Boys. I think they were the group who really got me into the kind of music I try to make. David Bowie for his sheer creative genius & ability to re create his identity time & time again. Thirdly would probably be The Verve. The sentiments they explore in their music had a big influence on my writing.

  1. Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

I suppose the theme of my current album ‘Postcards from Then…’  is what if… Just imagine the world was straight forward & the single from it ‘The Dream of Yesterday’ is along the same lines: everything was going to be so easy when I was a kid!

  1. Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

I’m based in London so there’s a pretty rich & eclectic music scene. My favourite venue to play is probably The Fighting Cocks but that’s only because Jimi Hendrix used to play there when he was based in Kingston!

  1. Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

There are so many other great artists around London just waiting to be discovered, but if you’re into a bit of jazz – funk check out The Groove Monkeys!

  1. Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

Prior to this – ‘Postcards from Then…’ – album I’ve recorded 4 other albums that are all available under my name, Adam Lanceley, on free stream or download stores.

Leave a Reply

