Get to know: Cameron Davidson


IMG_4529

  1. How did you get your initial start in music?

I used to play a few instruments when I was younger, such as classical guitar and violin, however when I was about 14 or so, I started to take records that I loved up to the music room at my school and play along on the drums to them. That progressed to writing my own songs and then trying to record them. I would do the trick of using two cassette recorders and swapping them over in order to multi-track record my ideas with all the different instruments. Writing, recording and expressing myself this way was something that I was consumed with, and I have been doing it in one way or the other ever since.

  1. What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

Everyone who plays music at some stage wants to be able to be as successful as possible, and that means having their music reach as wide an audience as they can. For me, that is no different.  I would love to be able to know that what I am doing reaches as many people as I can get it out to, and as a result of that, if that means that I can support myself whilst creating music for an audience, that would be success.

Playing at Wembley would be nice too…

  1. How long have you been writing your own music?

Since I was around 11 I think… Granted, they weren’t very good, those early ones.. I used to make little guitar bits up and record it on a cassette, and play the violin over it. I started actually writing songs that I wanted people to hear when I was around 15 or so? I actually still have quite a few of them on tape somewhere..

  1. Who are your top three influences and why?

Dave Grohl for the ability to do and make things for yourself.

Lennon/McCartney for the focus on making Lyrics and Music work perfectly together.

Johnny Marr, for using the guitar in an intelligent way for popular music.

Of course, if you asked me again in 20 minutes, it could all be different….

  1. Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

One section of that song is a leftover from songs I wrote when I was 16. I can actually still picture the time I came up with it. I had been saving it to use after all these years. There are prizes for guessing which bit it is…

  1. Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

I am based in Southampton, although I play all over the place. London is a great place to play, so I try and play there as much as I can. There are lots of great bands around the area. It can be a little more heavy rock in Southampton, but all great musicians. My favourite venue has actually shut down now, but no Southampton based musician can get through a venue question without giving ‘The Joiners’ a shout.

  1. Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

There used to be a band called Submariner based here that made interesting melodic pop songs. I was friends with the singer, however I think they have now moved to Brighton.

  1. Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

I am available from all good social media sites.

Namely:

Facebook.com/camerondavidsonmusic

Soundcloud.com/camerondavidsonmusic

Twitter.com – @CaDavidsonmusic

Instagram – @camdavidsonmusic

Youtube.com/camerondavidsonmusic

Leave a Reply

