Interview with Pedro Syrah

Want to get to know more about Portuguese indie/rock artist Pedro Syrah? Then keep on reading…

  1. How did you get your initial start in music?

My parents used to play guitar. I started quite early, there are some recordings of my mother and me when I was 2.  Later I started playing guitar and composing with different instruments, but this was how it started.

  1. What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

I’d love to be able to keep recording, solo or with a  band; but I’d love also to do soundtracks, I believe it’s a very important part of my work. I’ve done soundtracks before and I love the freedom I have to compose inspired by images.

  1. How long have you been writing your own music?

Since I remember. I started writing songs and poems as a way to express myself. Later, maybe around 15 years old, it began to be more serious and professional, but I have written and composed since I remember.

  1. Who are your top three influences and why?

There are many influences in my work, from classical music to progressive rock. But if I had to choose a top three… Pink Floyd, Led Zeppelin and Jimi Hendrix. I spent hours listening to Pink Floyd almost everyday; I understood I wanted to be a musician after I saw Live at Pompeii, they are really a huge influence due to the scenarios they created on each song, due to the psychedelic and progressive way of composing. They are my major influence. Led Zeppelin are another huge influence due to the complexity of their sound; they’re just unique. Jimi Hendrix should be a landmark for every musician. I remember the first time I heard him, I was in the car and “Crosstown Traffic” started playing. I remember I was stunned with his sound, his groove, his mojo.

  1. Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

The album will be released in October. It’s my first solo album and it’s a mix of feelings and styles. I asked every musician to feel the songs and compose their parts as they wanted them to sound, like their message. That’s what’s different in this album, the mixture of styles, feelings.

  1. Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

I moved recently to London, but I was living in Lisbon. Since I’m still dedicated to the album, which involves recordings and producing in Lisbon, London and California, I haven’t been out that much. But in Lisbon I recommend “Music Box” and in London I like “The Dublin Castle” or “Bush Hall”.

  1. Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

As I said, due to the fact I moved recently to London I haven’t got the chance to know the music scene as I’d like to. But I can recommend to bands from Lisbon: PAUS and Filho da Mãe.

  1. Give our readers a roundup of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

“Fairytale Land” will be available online in almost every platform for buying and streaming. A special edition called “White Edition” will be also available online, exclusively in digital format with some new songs and versions.

Leave a Reply

