Suit of Lights

The genre defying band takes its listeners on a musical adventure far into the unknown with each track. The band, named after The Matador’s Traje de luces, symoblise the beauty and brutality of life with their strong melodic sensibility with varying influences from Bach to The Buzzcocks.

We asked them a few questions to get to know them better…

 

1. HOW DID YOU GET YOUR INITIAL START IN MUSIC?

I was deeply affected by music as far back as I can remember. My father always played Big-band and Classical records in the house, and I started collecting records at a very young age. When I was 10, my parents bought me an acoustic guitar and a Mel Bay guitar chords book. I taught myself by playing along with Ramones albums.

2. WHAT WOULD BE YOUR ULTIMATE AIM IN THE INDUSTRY?

Really, I’m only interested in the art part. Music is sacred to me, the industry is just a delivery vehicle. I started my own label, Visiting Hours so I can have 100% creative freedom and interface with the machine just enough to get my records released, distributed and promoted. I think maintaining 100% creative control, and reaching as large an audience as possible is what any real artist wants.

3. HOW LONG HAVE YOU BEEN WRITING YOUR OWN MUSIC?

I remember making up songs before I could even play an instrument, it’s just something that came naturally to me. We would learn about something in school, and I would walk home putting a melody to it. One day, I wrote a real song about a girl I had a crush on.

4. WHO ARE YOUR TOP THREE INFLUENCES AND WHY?

Elvis Costello, David Bowie, and King Crimson. All three are
fearlessly creative artists, who are responsible for showing me the
expansiveness and depth of music. I should say my new record is also
heavily influenced by the bands Sparks and Cardiacs, who I consider
to be at the same level of inventive genius.

5. IS THERE ANYTHING YOU WOULD LIKE PEOPLE TO KNOW ABOUT YOUR CURRENT

RELEASE?

I guess the main thing is that I want people to know I’m not trying to preach. The songs come about because I have ideas that I want to remember. And so I’m reminding myself of them, not shouting platitudes at anybody else.

6. WHERE ARE YOU BASED AND WHAT’S YOUR LOCAL SCENE LIKE? ANY

FAVOURITE VENUES?

New York City. Favorite venue is (Le) Poisson Rouge on Bleecker Street. I recently saw a benefit show there with St. Vincent, Joan As Police Woman, and Rufus Wainwright on the same bill! It was incredible.

7. WHO ELSE CAN YOU RECOMMEND FROM YOUR LOCAL SCENE FOR PEOPLE TO HAVE

A LISTEN TO?

I really love JOAN AS POLICE WOMAN from Brooklyn.

You should also check out my friends bands: Billy Carrion Jr, Tea Club, Readymade Breakup, and Brian Fitzpatrick.

8. GIVE OUR READERS A ROUNDUP OF WHERE THEY CAN FIND YOU ONLINE AND

HEAR MORE OF YOUR MUSIC.

http://suitoflights.com

https://www.facebook.com/suitoflights1/

https://twitter.com/JoeDarone1

https://soundcloud.com/visiting-hours

“Break Open the Head” LP / CD / DOWNLOAD Available from:

iTunes – https://itunes.apple.com/us/artist/suit-of-lights/id70791524

Amazon UK – https://www.amazon.co.uk/Break-Open-Head-Suit-Lights/dp/B01CAJBAA2/ref=sr_1_3?s=music&ie=UTF8&qid=1469632769&sr=1-3

Google Play – https://play.google.com/store/music/album/Suit_of_Lights_Break_Open_the_Head?id=Bd7te5ri6qje7cqixu7rpauo6o4&hl=en

Leave a Reply

