Interview with Kambui Chui-Moore

Final Words Artwork

Houston artist Kambui Chui-Moore is a DIY artist with a fresh and soulful electronica-tinged sound. Dedicated to tackling mental health, his music is all about opening up emotionally  and encouraging others to do the same. Read our interview with the exciting new singer and get to know him better…

  1. How did you get your initial start in music?

 

I got my start in music playing drums in my father’s church. After getting tired of playing in concert and marching bands, I started to record videos with my friends of us freestyling. Everyone from my neighborhood in Detroit was into rapping at the time and I eventually joined in on tracks. I enjoyed the spontaneity so much I eventually started to take it seriously and feel in love with the creation process.

 

  1. What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

 

Honestly, I just want to successfully blend music elements in a way that hasn’t been done before. I want people to look back at my music and be inspired to create something new. To be on the cutting edge of what’s possible in music and get that nod from my peers as a great mind in music would be amazing.

 

  1. How long have you been writing your own music?

 

Since the beginning. I studied journalism at university and I’ve always loved to write. Poems turned into lyrics, lyrics into songs. No better way to express yourself, and it takes a lot of talent to edit something and totally understand and predict the immediate reaction of your audience.

 

  1. Who are your top three influences and why?

 

I listen to so much music, its hard for me to pinpoint where my influence is coming from. I have to say my friends definitely help me create music confidently. We talk about what we like and don’t like about current music and it always gives me great ideas on how to approach my next record. Classical composers influence me a lot because they didn’t have the technology we have today. They created some really dynamic arrangements with very few resources or references. Lastly, music with emotion in general is my favorite. Their are definitely people I consider to be at the top of our profession in terms of execution. Overall the genre of R&B and Soul music, past and present, motivates me to innovate and break new ground in music. It has a feel to it that is the most consistent with our daily rollercoaster of emotions. Love is a constant lens and is in every emotion.

 

  1. Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

 

Final Words focuses on the idea of getting over something. Its supposed to be bare because when you are alone in your room in the heat of these moments, you don’t feel these vivid colors and ranges. Depression is a quiet and painful state and that’s what I wanted to capture in a beautiful way.

 

  1. Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favorite venues?

 

I live in Detroit, Michigan and the local scene here is driven by rap music. My favorite venue is The Fox Theatre, even though most of our local acts can’t fill that place up. It is something to aspire to.

 

  1. Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

 

I’d say Amir Obe. He’s from here and he is doing great things in a short time.

 

  1. Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

 

Everything is at my site www.mvrmvl.com. That links to everything I have going on.

Leave a Reply

