Interview with Matty T Wall

BLUE SKIES ALBUM COVER

Matty T Wall is a rock guitarist and singer with a bluesy and hi-octane sound. He has a new album out titled Blue Skies.  Read our interview with him below:

  1. How did you get your initial start in music?

    I started playing guitar maybe around 11yrs old, after being smitten by the look and sound of the electric guitar.  Angus Young from ACDC was my fave, as was Mark Knopfler and later on, Eric Clapton.  I didn’t join my first band until many years later, which was incidentally an original heavy metal band (cue headbang) – Metallica and other bands of the time were the sort of music that was getting people excited, so I followed it along.   I was into loud, aggressive and exciting music as a teenager, but I always felt the blues was where it was at.   Blues could say so much with so little – but growing up, nobody listened to it, I just kept that to myself until much later.

    2. What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

    Well, I want to take the music I love, which is generally music from 3 points in time – 50s-60s American blues, 60s-70s rock, and 90s alternative rock and bring it into the 21st century.  This is a work in progress, but the songwriting and creating aspect is so enjoyable, I will be doing this for a long time.   Ultimately, if I can make records the resonate strongly with people who also love this sort of music, then I am happy.  You create art to make a statement and to make the world a more interesting and colourful place.

    3. How long have you been writing your own music?

    Pretty much as long as I have been playing guitar I have been writing riffs and songs.  Bands that I have played with have usually started out as cover bands and then morphed into original bands, as I get comfortable and want to move the music forward.  I am pretty relentless at trying new ideas and experimenting with things until they sound good – this can be a good and bad thing.  Even when playing covers, I want to give them an original slant.

    4. Who are your top three influences and why?

    That is such a hard question to answer, my influences change every few months or so as I start listening to different things.  As far as the regular favourites that I always come back to, Stevie Ray Vaughan, Eric Clapton, ZZTop, Hendrix and Jeff Beck all get a pretty good work out.  As does Van Halen recently.   Contemporary artists I like listening to would have to include Gary Clark Jr.  His first album still floors me.   Trying to incorporate more r&b and hip-hop elements has been a fun little experiment that I have been trying recently in a similar vein to what he has done.  Wu-Tang and Eminem get a mention here.

    5. Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

    Well, being a certified “tone-junkie” I would have to say – get the album on CD – it sounds so much better.  I had the album mastered for CD, and by listening on the car stereo.   I have never been big into mp3, although it is a good way to check out music.  I grew up with the excitement of getting a new CD and looking at all the album art and lyrics, and now I am big into vinyl as it is a similar experience but even more tactile.   You can get it shipped free anywhere in the world from www.mattytwall.com – so get in touch.   I might look at releasing a vinyl version at some point in time also.

     6. Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

    I’m based in Perth, Western Australia which is recognized as one of the most remote capital cities in the world.  In that respect, touring can be a tough and expensive thing to do, but it makes the local scene very tough, competitive and seemingly quite talented.  A great many internationally recognized artists are from my hometown.  The two big ones would have to be Bon Scott (ACDC) and Michael Hutchence (INXS).   Although they had to eventually move to Sydney/Melbourne to further their ambitions.  There is that feeling that this is a small town and one must break out of it – hard to describe, but extremely recognisable and palpable in this city where musicians and artists are concerned.

     7. Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

    Tame Impala, Pendulum and Karnivool are all contemporary bands here in Perth that have made their mark worldwide and are definitely worth a listen.

    8. Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

    Definitely head to www.mattytwall.com to have a listen to some music and get a copy of the CD.  iTunes/Spotify and all the usual suspects are places that you can have a listen too.  Feel free to jump on facebook too if you want to say hi, or if you would like to hit me up to tour in your part of the world!

 

Leave a Reply

