Get to know Australia’s pop artist Jo Cooper

Having performed on Australia’s number 1 breakfast show ‘The Morning Show’ as well as performing for Rugby League team The South Sydney Rabbitohs during half-time, Sydney singer/songwriter is superseding her previous brilliant single ‘Touch the Sky’ with ‘Wildfire’ and Cavo’s remix of ‘Wildfire’.

Giving the likes of Jess Glynne and Katie Perry a run for their money Jo Cooper’s high energy and uplifting ‘Wildfire’ sports glorious house pads and a deep harmonious piano underpinning the chords.

1jo0641 2

We asked Jo some questions so we could get to know her better…

  1. How did you get your initial start in music?

 

Since a very young age I would sing random lyrics that I made up around the place, not because I thought I could sing simply because I just never shut up. If I wasn’t talking I was humming and then singing.

 

It wasn’t until one day in music class that my teacher got sick and tired of me singing instead of learning an instrument (which I regret) and gave me an ultimatum, sing at the school concert or attend after school detention. She knew my father was extremely strict so she had me in a corner, clearly I chose to sing at the school concert.

 

She gave me a Whitney Houston song and I totally freaked out. It was when I sang at that concert that I realised wow, I think I can actually sing and it was all I wanted to do from that moment on. My teacher called my father in to ask him if she could put me into after school singing lessons and he said NO!

 

Clearly I was too young to pursue singing on my own so I fell into the run of the mill corporate world. I met my husband at work and shortly after we got married he told me I should give up work and start my music career, so ultimately I couldn’t be doing this without him.

 

 

  1. What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

 

I would love to find an audience who really appreciate music for the lyrics, the beat, the feeling and meaning of what a song is. These days it’s all about how many followers you have on social media and not about the passion you have for what you do. So I would love to reach that audience who still value songwriting and singing.

 

  1. How long have you been writing your own music?

 

I don’t remember the exact age, but I was young always making up stories, poems and then humming them out into a song.

 

  1. Who are your top 3 influences and why?

 

It’s hard to name just 3 as there are so many artists who influence me at different times. Whitney Houston is a huge influence for me, her voice for me was the best, and I don’t think you can go past Whitney’s vocal delivery. Michael Jackson and his amazing talent to entertain coupled with his hard work always struck a chord with me. He was fearless with pushing boundaries. Sia to me is a brilliant songwriter and I love her unique style.

 

 

  1. Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

 

Wildfire is a sexy track with that feeling of electric love, I think the beat really carries the message of the song. When you just can’t get enough of that person you’re madly in love with, that’s the underlying tone of Wildfire.

 

  1. Where are you based and what is your local scene like? Any favorite venues?

 

I’m in Sydney, Australia and we still have a great lot of local talent, however Sydney is struggling with our latest lock out laws, which has seen a lot of venues close down. People are still being creative and there are warehouse parties and the like, it’s just not like it once was when Sydney was thriving in the live music scene.

 

The Basement is still one of my favourite places and The Enmore theatre hosts a lot of great acts.

 

 

  1. Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

 

I’ve recently discovered Joshua Burgh, who has a voice that makes you feel a lot of emotion, check him out.

 

 

  1. Give our readers a roundup of where they can find you online and hear more of your music?

 

ITunes: https://itunes.apple.com/au/album/wildfire/id1136904495

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/jocoopermusic

Sound cloud: https://soundcloud.com/jocooper

Twitter: https://twitter.com/jocoopermusic

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/JoCooperSings

Leave a Reply

