Get to Know Sertari

KOD

Cyprus-based pop singer Sertari has a dance sound reminiscent of great divas like Madonna and Gwen Stefani. Get to know Sertari better below…

1. How did you get your initial start in music?

I was always musical through the influence of my family, my dad was a performer, so it was in my DNA to follow in his footsteps. I then realised that it was something I was good at and wanted to pursue. I went to an academy in contemporary music and then completed a music degree at university. I performed in many bands both original and covers acts and one of my first original bands was with a hip-hop act which is where I met Ben – now my drummer and producer/co-writer. 

2. What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

My dream would be to spread the Sertari name and it would be amazing to hit some more chart spots. It would also be a honour to visit and perform at many venues across the globe. Got to dream big!

3. How long have you been writing your own music?

I have been writing music since an early age, I think my first song i wrote was when I was about 12 years old…about a cat!

4. Who are your top three influences and why?

My Dad, I know it may sound mushy but he was the one who was always playing and singing in the house. My whole home growing up was filled with music from world music to rock, pop and classical. I never really had an artist who was my main influence as I listened to so much music but just to name a few…Nightwish, Kate Bush, Micheal Jackson, meat loaf, Bonnie Tylor, No doubt, led Zeppelin and the list goes on.   

5. Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

“Keep on Dreaming” is my first single and video after taking some time out following the birth of my daughter. It’s an upbeat song with a varied vocal characteristic. It was written for my daughter to let her know that no matter what happens in life, I will always be there for her and that no matter what anyone says, you should always keep on dreaming and reaching for the stars. 

6. Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

I am based in a small country town in Hampshire, its quite quiet where I live but there are some lovely festivals on the bank holidays. But I like to venture to either London, GuildfordPortsmouth or Southampton. Although these days when I perform, thats my night out and other than that I love to chill at home and wind down.  

7. Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

J-Ivy – although he is not actually local to me (Chicago) he is an amazing poet/artist and will be featuring on one of my songs in the future, and I’m very lucky to be working with him!

8. Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

you can catch up on all the gossip from either 

Facebook page – www.facebook.com/sertari

Leave a Reply

