The Sneaky Nixons

How did you get your initial start in music?

Difficult to say really, first started playing when I was ten, but didn’t really get good until I was about 14/15 when I really started listening to saucy rock-n-roll music.  I suppose its Don Carlo Variola from Ocean Waves who gave us our first real start by signing us to the label.

What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

Got a few aims – playing the festival circuit would be cool. I believe we got offered a fezzie in Thailand in march and a US texas date in march too, that’s sick. Unfortunately I’ve been skint since the last messy boozy budget tour in January, Dave was born skint, Jamie’s had his hours cut at work and Lisa’s unemployed. So fuck knows how we’re gunna come up with the plane ticket to all these mad places. Still, great things happen when a good idea is in place, with not quite enough time to execute it.

Aside from that, it would be nice to hang out with people who have some degree of self-respect, respect for me and my music rather than sitting around bitching about whose poxy shitty band is better.

I’d also like to be in the position where I don’t have to turn up to open mic sessions and play for a whiskey and beer because I’m skint.  Yeah, that would be my ultimate aim, make enough money from my rock-n-roll tunes, to get food under my nose, roof over my head.

How long have you been writing your own music?

Started when I was 16, so 7 years ish???

Who are your top 3 influences and why?

Arh, changes every week man.

I have to say the Libertines, because they’re the band that grabbed me at 15/16 and changed the way I thought, walked dressed and made me want to be in a band. Not now though, they’re fat, old and shit – really pisses me off. I’ve lined their pockets so much growing up from gig tickets, posters albums whatever, and then they re-from for the money and release that drivel on the latest album after how many years of pissing money up the wall and getting trollied. It would be cool and funny if I wasn’t the one contributing to it!

Jack White or the white stripes would definitely have to up there. The way that guy can write such fuzzy rock-n-roll tunes while still retaining the pop melodic hooks – fantastic. Although he too, can be a bit hit and miss. Heard he’s a wanker as well, alcoholic whose got a restraining order because he was drunkenly abusing his ex-wives. So I doubt I’d get along with him either.

I do like Amy Winehouse, and I think I would have got along with her. Sublime talent. Although she is a bit jazzy, and I hate Jazz.

Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

It’s pretty cool, check it out

Where are you based and what is your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

I cut between London and Liverpool, although the band is based in Liverpool. London is a massive expensive shit-hole full of try-hard wankers with a shit scene for rock-n-roll. All the other local bands I’ve heard are unbelievably shit. Some great venues, which attract some great bands, Brixton academy – I’d love to play there – The Forum, Shephard’s Bush,  Oslo, Water Rats, Old Blue Last is pretty cool too.

The Liverpool scene is far better. Liverpool is far more combust, a smaller city, packed to the rafters with genuine talent.  Not playing by the rules and going against the trend however, is perhaps a contributing factor as to why we haven’t progressed quite as well as we could have.

There are some cool venues though, District, Jacaranda, Kitchen Street, and of course the Zanzibar! We’ve played there over 10 times, really learnt to cut our teeth on the live circuit in that club. Zanzibar is a fairly small place, but with a massive sound. Cool little gaff that one.

Give our readers a roundup of where they can find you online and hear more of your music?

Check it out on Spotify, iTunes, Shazaam?? Whatever that is.

Also got a string of promo shows in October, Liverpool, Glasgow and a few others.

Hopefully Italy for a few pop-up shows and a full tour before Christmas!

Leave a Reply

