Get to know pop artist Jazz Mino better…

Similar to and inspired by artists such as Sia, Galantis and particularly Clean Bandit, London based singer songwriter Jazz Mino’s brilliant new single ‘Hurt’ features heartfelt and emotive lyrics and a massive force of a production behind them.

Watch/Listen Here: 

 

How did you get your initial start in music?

I initially started playing the violin and always found myself creating and jamming my own tunes rather than the pieces I’d been given to practice! Got me in a lot of trouble, but got me where I am today. I eventually moved onto my piano which quickly became my main tool (and still is!) for writing. I started properly releasing music online last year.

What would your ultimate aim in the industry be?

To headline Glastonbury festival of course! Aha, that’s always been my absolute dream, but as long as I’m writing, recording and singing and releasing the pop star within me, I couldn’t be happier… I guess the next step for me is an agent and being part of an established label. I also feel incredibly lucky that my music takes me to new countries, learning about new cultures and making friends/fans along the way. I’ve just come back from performing in Prague and had an amazing week of singing, exploring & beer fueled breakfasts!

How long have you been writing your own music?

I’ve been writing songs since I was 12 years old – I heard one of my close friends writing and I just thought – ‘Wow, I think I’d be great at that’.

Who are your top 3 influences and why?

Vocally, I’ve most been inspired by Etta James and have been since I can remember. More recently, my music has been inspired by Sia, Clean Bandit and Jess Glynne. I have especially loved listening to Sia’s stylistic change over the years, whilst still maintaining her amazing writing skills. I love the force of production behind her recent tracks which has heavily influenced my last single and current release; “Hurt”.

Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

My current release, “Hurt” was written during a difficult time in my life. Early this year I lost my Grandma who was a second mother to me and is the reason I’m doing music! It meant a lot to me that I got to spend so much time with her before she passed away, and although this was devastating, I’ll always cherish those last moments with her.

I was pretty silent and numb around that time and the only way that I could express my feelings was through writing. “Hurt” has been the most emotionally challenging release so far and this resonates in the production, lyrics and music video. The music video will be released later this month and “Hurt” will be available from 23rd.

Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

I’m currently based in Shoredtich, London – I love London so much! I do a lot of busking around the Southbank which although not a ‘conventional venue’ – I have to say is one of my favourites!  There are so many cool venues. I recently played at Century in Soho which I loved, Shoreditch House rooftop is a pretty amazing venue too. I also love the more gritty ‘classic’ venues like The Monarch – Always such a buzzing atmosphere!

Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

I’ve met loads of amazing musicians throughout my journey in London and some have also become great friends. I met an awesome Maltese beat boxer, Dana McKeon who I’d recommend. There are a couple more Maltese artists I love too – Malta cleary breed a lot of talent! 😉

Give our readers a roundup of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

You can find all of my music on iTunes, Spotify, Apple Music etc. I’m on all of the socials so find me on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram etc to keep up to date with new releases and London shows! Super excited about my next show, Tuesday 20th September as it’s in Shoreditch where I live! Details can be found here – http://bit.ly/2bgSJqC

 

iTunes: https://itunes.apple.com/gb/album/suffocate-single/id1111825362

Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/track/2InPRrQABlXLxf0oSmuB0t

 

Website: http://www.jazzmino.com/

Facbook: https://www.facebook.com/JazzMinoUK

Twitter: https://twitter.com/

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/c/jazzmino

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/Jazz_Mino_UK/

Mailing List: http://bit.ly/1vFrFcm

Leave a Reply

