Get to know R&B artist Jake Aldridge

Suffolk-based R&B artist Jake Aldridge has announced his forthcoming single ‘Illogical‘, which is due to be released on October 23rd 2016. The song, which features Haleana and is produced by Ninety II, will be available on Spotify and iTunes. The last few years have seen Jake’s rise from a bedroom act into a breakthrough artist, racking up over 150,000 plays online.

How did you get your initial start in music?

When I was 17, I began keeping a diary and would write my thoughts about life etc. down on paper. One day I randomly started to rhyme some of the words I was writing. After much encouragement from a former drummer and close friend of mine – Tom Moran, we began making music together.

What would your ultimate aim in the industry be?

I guess my ultimate aim would be to make a living from my music. I’d love to have my music in a film, to be played on BBC Radio 1 and to be signed to a record label for sure, but there is something beautiful about being independent (despite the lack of finances) I get to make all of the decisions, well myself and the producer of each respective song of course!

How long have you been writing your own music?

About 11 years now (that’s scary). It’s funny you know because despite considering myself as a lyricist, I always get slightly nervous before writing a new song .It’s like I don’t really believe I can do it all again but somehow the words seem to come to me. I love it.

Who are your top 3 influences and why?

I’d say number 1 is definitely Tupac Shakur, I loved his honesty, his lyrical content and his spirit. I admired his passion and work ethic too. I would most probably say Nelly would be number 2. I’m a big fan of his style of music, that combination of R&B & Hip-Hop. He’s definitely someone I’ve taken influence from in my music. Number 3 is hard but I’d probably say Adele. I’m a big fan of her music but I also admire her personality (what I’ve seen of it) and how humble and real she seems to be. I’d strive to be like that if my music took off.

Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

Definitely, my upcoming single is titled ‘Illogical’ and it’s going to available on Itunes, Spotify, Amazon etc on October 23rd ! The track features Haleana who like me, is from Suffolk and is actually a vocal coach. It’s also been produced by Ninety II, an up and coming producer from Bristol who’s producing some huge tracks for me right now ! We’re all very excited about this new release and we’re lucky to have a talent as great as Haleana involved as well.

Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

I’m from Suffolk and although the local scene are not generally fans of Hip-Hop music, I really enjoy performing live and have performed alongside the likes of Lisa Ambrose and Steve Moyse, two incredible artists from this area.

Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

Definitely Steve Moyse, Lisa Ambrose, Kelly Jenns and my girlfriend of course – Kelly Brooks. She’s a great singer as well. You should check out Haleana too.

Give our readers a roundup of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

The best place to catch me is definitely my website – www.jakealdridge.com You’ll find links to my social media pages there also and you can subscribe to mailing list too if you like which will earn you some free music along with all of my exclusives !!!

One thought on “Get to know R&B artist Jake Aldridge

Leave a Reply

