Introducing King Shelter

How did you get your initial start in music?

I grew up playing drums in South Florida, eventually finding myself drawn to song writing and just simply creating. My dad and brother are better musicians than I’ll ever be, so growing up around that…..yeah….. I got big shoes to fill.

What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

My main goal is to gain a platform to help. This is all I’m really good at, so maybe through this project I can help the less fortunate. I want people to understand each other and to display compassion before judgment. I want to pay all my Krispi Kru’s bills and not have to skip meals. That’s my aim.

How long have you been writing your own music?

I started messing around with arranging and song writing from the days of being a boy. I never really gave it a full, confident attempt until about early high school. The amount of stoke I get from a good song is almost as much as when someone pinches a sweet front crook.

Who are your top three influences and why?

Thom Yorke – Kurt Cobain – A$AP Rocky

They are culture. Thom developed a platform with alt rock to be able to share his insanely creative and unique mind through incredibly experimental and genius music. I don’t need to say much about Cobain, we all know. He IS culture. Yeah. A$AP is the greatest figure in culture currently. He IS everything that is important in culture. I can only dream of being as good of an artist as A$AP Mob.

Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

Most importantly, this song is about PEOPLE, for the PEOPLE, by the PEOPLE. I realised I could try and make these epic anthems of big change and yadayada, whatever. But if I can just open people’s eyes to what others are truly experiencing, then maybe we can understand each other. If we understand one another, maybe we can show more compassion. Maybe if we have more compassion for each other, we can do greater things together.

Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

We live in Orange, but we are LA now. LA is vast and ridiculous. There are so many bands, good and bad. But things are in the process of changing from synth pop and laptop based bands to more rock and people just playing music on stage. We are part of that change and we want to help usher back in true live music. We always enjoy the echo in LA and the Observatory in OC.

Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

Our blood sucking boys, Badlnds from OC. Their live show is wild. The dream-glam goddesses from SWIMM. They run LA right now.

Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

We all over that inter web (thanks bill jobs), @kingshelter , spotify/itunes. STAY aware, we have more music coming the rest of this year. We want to share. We have something to offer. We hope people choose to check it out.

Links:

Facebook
Twitter
Instagram
Spotify
Soundcloud

Leave a Reply

