We talk to indie electro-pop vocalist GIIA

How did you get your initial start in music?

Music has been at the center of my world since I was young. I took my passion to the next level by studying at Berklee College of Music. From there I started to write and ended up where I am today with GIIA.

What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

I want to make music that people turn on when they want to feel something. Sad, happy, excited, whatever it is I want my music to compliment their current feelings.

How long have you been writing your own music?

I have been writing my own lyrics for years now but I just recently started putting them to music about three years ago.

Who are your top three influences and why?

Mine are ever changing with the times but right now they are:
George Maple – her melodies are insane and so moving
Little Dragon- i love the way she phrases her lyrics
Kai- she’s a new artist so its been interesting to see her grow

Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

I am based in NYC. The best place in the world to do this work in my opinion. The city is flooded with talented, creative producers and musicians. My first gig was at Hudson Terrace in Manhattan. It was a beautiful room and I had so much fun.

Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

Mothica, No Wyld and DAK

Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

Be my friend on all things social:
SoundCloud – @giiagiia
Instagram – @hellogiia
Facebook – @helloGIIA
Twitter – @helloGIIA
Leave a Reply

