Get to know Tuffet Bunnies…

How did you get your initial start in music?

I started by playing in a punk band with my middle school friends. We called ourselves BUBWOB, which stood for Back Up Band WithOut a Bass. It was me on guitar and vocals, another guitarist and a drummer. The other guitarist was in a more successful rock band at the time and we were his back up band, without a bass player. We played a lot of three-chord pop-punk songs a la Green Day. We played a lot of pranks on each other and made a lot of noise in my parents’ basement.

What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

To spread joy and love and truthfulness to the world with my songs. I hope I can get in touch with as many people as I can. Songwriting is my diary and these songs are entries that seem worthy of showing to a wider audience because they represent that inspired feeling people get once they’re overtaken by love.

How long have you been writing your own music?

Since I was around 12 years old and I’m currently 29 years old. I was writing poems since I was a very young kid. In elementary school I even got a poem published. The poem went:

Showers of flowers are flooding up the garden. I’m trying to find my sister who was picking dandelions.

Who are your top three influences and why?

Green Day: Growing up, I felt such a connection to them and their overall attitude. Their first four albums influenced me more than any other music during my formative years. They have such an economical use of music and melody within their tunes. Billy Joe’s lyrics are filled with clever quips and a fair amount of heart. And they also kept trying to push themselves to new territory artistically.

Spoon: I remember the first time I heard their song, ‘Something to Look Forward To’, I was caught off guard by how it was such a succinct, catchy and cool tune. They have such a consistent formula for making atmospheric and cool songs. Yet they push themselves with each new record, never remaining too complacent.

Damon Albarn: I love how he can take on such a variety of styles, and yet remain true to himself. He’s very innovative and curious with his artistic output.

Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

They’re songs I wrote about being in love with my girlfriend, Scarlett. I want people to hear them and reminisce about people and aspects of life that fill you up with happiness and eagerness and hope.

Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

Glendale, CA. I don’t go to many live music shows around here. The live music scene in Southern California isn’t necessarily that hopping. Clubs play dance music and Hollywood is filled with shiny people in uncomfortable clothes going to those clubs and that’s not my scene. There are some small indie places around, yet they don’t get much people coming to shows. The Smell is a pretty rad place in downtown LA to check out new music.

Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

In my local scene, here in Glendale, I don’t have anyone lately to recommend. I used to play in some bands in Austin, TX. There are many bands there to check out such as:  ST-37, The Magic Rockers of Texas, Genuine Leather, Adam J. Cook. Rhys Tivey in Brooklyn, NY is also a friend of mine who is an excellent trumpet player and put out a record recently.

Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

You can stream my debut EP on SoundCloud – https://soundcloud.com/tuffetbunnies

You can purchase the songs here – https://www.cdbaby.com/m/cd/tuffetbunnies

I post new songs I make for my girlfriend on my Tuffet Bunnies Instagram page here – https://www.instagram.com/tuffetbunnies/

You can also check out somewhat scandalous pictures of my girlfriend and I at this Instagram page – https://www.instagram.com/sleazyandawkward/

 

Leave a Reply

