Introducing I N J I N…

How did you get your initial start in music?

Music was in my blood from a very early age.  For my birthday, an Uncle bought me a tin drum, of which I added a few more cans, in order to make different noises.  By the time I was in my teens, I had bought a full set of Premier drums and taught myself.  My Mother and Father were both singers and music was constantly coming from our house.  The word went round, that I was a confident player/drummer.  A well known local lead guitarist by the name of Chris heard about me and gave me a call to meet up, this was the beginning of a 5x piece rock band.  We played every weekend traveling as far up the country as Mid England, and from London to Cornwall.  We also had a very formidable fan base.

What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

My aim today is to find a new manager with a good reputation.  My ultimate aim is to find a 5x piece band, in which to tour, also making videos to compliment my songs, and to achieve status.  Also writing soundtracks for new films.

How long have you been writing your own music?

I n j i n  was writing songs as far back as the late 70’s and 80’s for local released albums.

Who are your top three influences and why?

In the beginning  I n j i n  loved big band sounds, whether cabaret, dance, or jazz, also rock + roll.  But when  I n j i n started performing, he was  influenced by journey, foreigner, styx.   Steve Perry of Journey, had such a beautiful toned voice, singing many octaves. The bands in question had fantastic harmonies, so melodic, and well executed.  Bands in the UK were Whitesnake, Deep Purple etc etc.,

Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

My lastest song  ‘Turning inside out’ (C)  is a song about such people out there on the streets, whom have nothing, including some refugees.

Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?
At the moment, I am based in Dorset, where I have found a place of serenity to write songs.  There are countless clubs and pubs in Weymouth and Bournemouth, both in Dorset, whom supply all types of music, almost every day of the week.  Once very famous venues, The Steering Wheel, and Cat’s Whiskers, often use to house celebrities whom have fond memories of these clubs.

Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

One popular rock band in their time were ‘Splinter’ based in Weymouth.   They too travelled far, until certain musicians moved on.

Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

I n j i n  can be found on many sites.  His own site on www.injin.co.uk . On Facebook under Roger James, (in stage costume photo).

Soundcloud- @injinrogerjames

Youtube – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FwxGDhbyfCI

Leave a Reply

