Inspirational Artist Adam Lanceley talks about bullying

Adam Lanceley’s inspirational story is not the kind you hear often. Yes, we frequently hear about people in tragic car crashes, but how many of those people manage to forge a career in music after such an event? Adam is one of those people.

At the young age of just ten, Adam suffered serious head injuries in a car crash and he was told it was unlikely he would ever walk or talk again. Since then, Adam has defied the odds and those who doubted him, relearning a number of life skills and going on to produce five albums, as well as run the London Marathon!

With anti-bullying week approaching (14th-18th November), Adam has been kind enough to give us a few words about his experiences with bullying in the past:

Hi, I’m Adam Lanceley & I’m a singer-songwriter. My latest single ‘Those Rose Tinted Days’ which is from my fifth album, Postcards From Then…, can be interpreted as talking about my teenage and student years as though it was really easy and straightforward back then. In actual fact, due to a severe head injury sustained in a serious car crash when I was 10, it was anything but a smooth ride. To be honest, I was lucky that I didn’t get bullied more than I did; I spoke very slowly,  I was vulnerable & I couldn’t walk properly for a very long time. Even now, years later, I have a very pronounced limp. But the times I did get bullied really hurt. I found the non-physical stuff more damaging & difficult to take than what you’d normally think of as bullying, which is not to say that the times people let me know they didn’t like the way I walked by giving me a kicking wasn’t incredibly painful! Still, being called ‘spastic’ or ‘a cripple’ was much harder for me to swallow; the whole ‘sticks and stones’ argument didn’t really hold up. Getting taken advantage of is another form of bullying I could have done without.

Fortunately, I got through it and I’m grateful that I had good friends to make it easier too. I’m also lucky that I had interests that kept me striving to get somewhere, but at the same time, I know how much easier my life could’ve been without bullying in the first place. Also, was it really worth it? I once heard someone say there are no winners when it comes to bullying: the one doing it will someday feel remorse and the one being bullied carries the scars. 


 

If you’ve been inspired by Adam’s story, you can check out more on him here and listen to his latest track, ‘Those Rose Tinted Days’.

https://play.spotify.com/artist/0UFbDrAYa0cnAp41cQnyNb

https://twitter.com/AdamLanceley

https://soundcloud.com/adam-129087330

http://www.brainandspine.org.uk/adams-story

http://www.anti-bullyingalliance.org.uk/anti-bullying-week/

Leave a Reply

