GET TO KNOW: Kid Cupid

023a6127-hr

 

  1.  How did you get your initial start in music?

Laura: For me, I started playing instruments/songwriting in primary school (I actually played the cornet for a while! As well as guitar and singing lessons) I would perform at any opportunity and that slowly progressed into regular gigs and being noticed.

John: I started songwriting, and then I got into recording in a big way when I went to uni.  I actually found a love for piano a few years ago, I think it was prompted by getting into production.

Ian: I grew up always wanting to play saxophone. My Grandad was a big collector of jazz records. I actually didn’t start playing guitar until I was 18 and I got an electric for my birthday. I started playing bass when all my friends’ bands had plenty of guitar options but no one wanted to play bass, hence I now keep tabs on the low end!

James: I started on pots and pans from my parent’s kitchen, and drove them insane enough to buy me a real kit. I tried a couple of lessons but never did the homework, so in the end I just learned by playing along to CD’s.

 

  1. What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

To be able to call music our ‘job’ would be very cool and I think we would all love to perform on a big stage at Glastonbury. Honestly, to know that people genuinely like and want to buy/download/stream our music is such a buzz!

 

  1. How long have you been writing your own music?

Laura: I have been writing since I was about 5/6 years old. I have stacks of notebooks full of lyrics and song ideas.

Ian: I started writing my own stuff about 4/5 years ago and even had a brief foray into solo acoustic shows. I just didn’t like the pressure of performing by myself and I like bouncing ideas off people when you’re in a band and the sense of seeing things through to the best outcome via committee.

James: I’ve always been into creative writing from an early age, but didn’t turn my attention to lyrics until I was a teenager.

  1. Who are your top three influences and why?

Hard question! As band it helps us out a lot that we all have such different influences, it helps us be more experimental when writing!

Laura: For me personally I would say Stevie Nicks for her uniqueness and my many nights belting out ‘Edge of Seventeen’, Portishead for their experimental trip-hop vibe and Little Dragon who can do no wrong, just amazing!

Ian: Mine would have to be Ryan Adams, Josh Homme is an absolute hero and Thom Yorke

 

  1. Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

We had such a great time recording and producing this track (we do all production ourselves in John’s studio).  It took a long time and we kept returning to it, we really wanted to create something cinematic. It came alive when our friend Amy Squirrel added her beautiful cello part.

 

  1. Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

We’re based in London and as you can imagine the music scene is buzzing. At times it feels a little daunting as there are SO many bands, but it actually makes us more determined to stand out. We played The Water Rats which was great fun and we had a blast at Zigfried Von Underbelly recently

  1. Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

‘Brontë’ https://www.facebook.com/bronteofficialuk are definitely a duo to check out and we recently shared a bill with a band called ‘Posters’ who were really great!

  1. Give our readers a roundup of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

Hey readers! The best place to find our music is www.soundcloud.com/kidcupidmusic (we have 3 singles out so far and a couple of great remixes)

For reviews, articles and to see what we’re up to gig wise www.facebook.com/kidcupidmusic

For pictures and randomness go to www.instagram.com/wearekidcupid and www.twitter.com/kidcupidmusic

Leave a Reply

