GET TO KNOW: Jodie H Dunn

How did you get your initial start in music?

I have always loved to sing and create my own songs from a young age. I first found interest in writing my own music when I discovered my sisters old keyboard, which took my interest/passion for music alot further.

What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

My ultimate aim in the music industry would to be able to share my music with people who can relate to the lyrics and be inspired by what I do, to do something they love.

How long have you been writing your own music?

I have been creating my own music since I was 8/9 years old but started using my keyboard to write music when I was about 10/11 years old.

Who are your top three influences and why?

Frank ocean is one of my main influences because he shows so much emotion in his music and the lyrics really reach out to you.

Jhene Aiko is also a big influence for myself as her music is so relaxed and the lyrics are about her life and what she’s been through. It really inspires me to write more music when I listen to hers.

My final influence would have to be Eminem, as his music is quite different from both other influences. His music really expresses how far he has come from where he started and inspires me to carry on and push myself to do what I love more and more.

Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

My current release being ‘ I Belong In Hell’  is about being controlled by someone when you are at your lowest point and being forced to believe that you are in the wrong by the person who is manipulating you.

Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

I live in Swindon, a small town in Wiltshire. I have done a gig at The Blunsdon Arms pub, which is local to me and was an amazing atmosphere to perform in. Another gig I really enjoyed was at The Vic in Old town, the crowd were really supportive and the night went really smoothly. My local music scene is not very big, I know of few people that write music/perform locally but most tend to perform at open mic nights, local pubs or go busking in the town centre.

Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

I know few people locally that are trying to progress their music further but I met a few people from college that wrote music as well as singing covers who I became really close friends with but lost touch with them after I left.

Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

To hear more of my music and to get notified when my new track is released in February, you can like my Facebook page – ‘Jodie Helen Dunn’, subscribe to my YouTube channel – ‘Jodie Helen Dunn’ and/or follow me on my Instagram – ‘JodieHDunn’

Leave a Reply

