GET TO KNOW: Chey

How did you get your initial start in music?

Growing up music has always been a massive part of my life. My earliest memory was age 3 singing in a local chapel at a Christmas service where I sang Little Donkey. That’s where my love of singing and performing all began!

I was inspired in the early years by a Welsh singer/songwriter and comedian called Max Boyce, who at the time sold over 2 million albums with his Welsh humour and rugby songs!

What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

I would love to have had a no.1 album, and be on a sell-out world tour! That is my dream, not much I know ha!

How long have you been writing your own music?

My passion for songwriting has really developed over the last 15 years. Different experiences within my life have certainly had a big impact on the music I write now. I love to co-write with other artists and get inspiration from their experiences and interpret it in my own way.

Who are your top three influences and why?

One of my main influences is Freddie Mercury, his unique sound and songwriting masterpieces grabbed my attention, he wasn’t afraid to push the boundaries of songwriting. Amy Winehouse is another influence, especially on my first single. Her lyrics are strong and powerful and her style of signing is very recognisable, and I wanted to create something that would stand out, much like her music does. Another one of my influences is Celine Dion, she sings with such emotion and she’s a real story teller and I love the way she makes you feel every word she sings.

Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

It’s a 90s-style alternative indie pop ballad and it tells the story of a seductive love affair where the woman is in total control of what happens next, it really shows the power she holds in her hands and how she uses her sexuality to get what she wants.

Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

I live in a small village in the South Wales Valleys, about 23 miles from Cardiff where the music scene is large and varied. I haven’t got any favourite venues to be honest just love playing in Cardiff, every night of the week you can go and see live music and I love that, Wales is definitely the land of song!

Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

That’s a hard question! There’s so many talented musicians in Wales, I would recommend going to the HUB Festival in Cardiff, where they showcase some of the best up and coming talent Wales has to offer, and then you can decide on a favourite from there!

Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/OfficialCheyMusic/

Twitter: @OfficialChey1

Instagram: @Officialcheymusic

Soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/officialchey

Leave a Reply

