GET TO KNOW: Nancy Black

How did you get your initial start in music?

When I was 14 I joined a workshop that was designed to help girls get into music. It was incredible fun, a bit like the school of rock. We learnt about songwriting techniques, how to play different instruments, music tech and music production. From this workshop a band was formed and I ended up fronting an all girl rock band called Pink Lemons.

What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

One of my biggest aims would be to have a solid fan basis who support and grow with you as an artist. Just to know that there is an audience out there who can relate to the music I make would just be super special. Oh and to play the Pyramid stage at Glasto of course.

How long have you been writing your own music?

It was whilst being involved in the music workshop that I started to explore writing my own music and when I got my first guitar, I started to take writing more seriously.  I remember when I worked my first Saturday job at the tills in a hardware store, I would constantly be scribbling down lyrics on the back of old receipts and even now I don’t go anywhere without carrying a notebook.

Who are your top three influences and why?

Madonna has always been a massive influence to me. I always admire powerful female artists and Madonna has always had a way of being ahead of the game, re inventing herself constantly and being totally unique.

Alanis Morisette, I just love the emotions in her voice, it’s so raw and full of feeling, jagged little pill will always be my number 1 favorite album.

Prince, I re discovered Prince a couple of years ago when a friend gave me the DVD of Purple rain. I’ve always admired everything about Prince, his voice, his moves,the  style, stage presence, just pure magnetism.. A true entertainer.

Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

Dirty Little Bass is the first official EP that I have self released. I was lucky enough to work with two brilliant American music producers, Will Angeloro and Regah. The EP consists of various remixes including a mix by DJ, Simeon Belle.

The Dirty little Bass EP will be available on Itunes, Spotify, Amazon and Beatport from the 10th January.

Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favorite venues?

I am based near the City of Bath in Somerset. The scene is brilliant for alternative and indie acts although there isn’t a huge amount for more commercial artists. There are always good acoustic nights and one of my favorite venues is Komedia.

Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

I’d recommend Hip hop artist, Young Rob. He works in a range of genres from afrobeats, hip hop, pop and R N B. We recently formed an Urban pop group  called IV Click, along with producer Regah and US artist, Lonzo Starr. 

Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

I’m a big Insta fan and I enjoy connecting with fans through this platform above any other. You can find me at @nancyblackmusic also check out my soundcloud/nancyblackmusic for more music updates.

Leave a Reply

