GET TO KNOW: Corinna Jane

How did you get your initial start in music?

I would definitely thank my dad for this who imposed MTV on me at weekends whilst spinning me around in the living room. We also used to have cosy little sing-songs around the piano when I was little, which meant that I started to mess around at the piano and pick things by ear when I was a toddler – so when I got to five, my mother decided it was time for some piano lessons. I remember watching Sheryl Crow “All I Wanna Do” on the music channels when I was very small and asking for her album, I was already thinking how cool it would be to be able to sing your own songs to the world!

What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

I am already grateful for those who have supported me with my music so far and I would just want that to continue growing so that I am able to have a music career that is able to span for many decades and allow me to travel around the world and play to people who want to hear what they do, because it would mean a lot to me if people are able to take the music that I play to their hearts and give meaning to their own lives.

How long have you been writing your own music?

I’ve always tinkered away with my own melodies when I was a child, but I really started to write proper songs with music and lyrics when I was 12. Whilst obviously I can hear that I have come on since then, I can definitely hear the beginnings of my sound even in the earlier compositions, probably just the way I play the piano perhaps.

Who are your top three influences and why?

This is such a difficult question, as I listen to a lot of different pop and rock bands that have influenced me in some way, but aren’t necessarily reflective of my own sound.

  1. Sheryl Crow – she’s just such a versatile, timeless writer with a great sassy performance style and isn’t trying to conform to any particular sound.
  2. The Killers – such a clever band with their own unique sound that isn’t very replicable. Not only are they melodic, but they have these mind boggling poetic lyrics that sometimes don’t make sense initially, but get you thinking.
  1. Avril Lavigne – I loved her when I was growing up, she was living the dream that I wanted and inspired my imagination as a young teenager. For many years I got told I look like her, so I feel some kind of affinity to her. Musically, I think I have grown differently though.

Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

I am really proud of my EP “Hard In Love” – Both “Floodlights” and “Three Faces Of You” have had play across BBC Introducing nationally and also BBC Radio 6. It’s also a 4 track sampler of the 10 track album that I will be releasing very soon! The EP and the album is a quirky kind of pop-rock with a good dose of theatrics and also an element of folk.

Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

I am based in Northamptonshire. It’s rich in very talented singer songwriters and bands, but sadly so many of our treasured venues have closed down in our town, which is sadly the case for so many British towns nowadays, However, people still love going to watch live music and there is still a vibrant scene with our yearly Northampton Music Festival, iconic venue The Roadmender and music nights in local pubs and bars.

Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

I would definitely recommend listening to singer songwriters Will Rogers and Hannah Faulkner. Will is a fantastic melodically uplifting songwriter with very well crafted clever lyrics, perfect for a singalong! Hannah has a phenomenal soulful voice and also featured as a vocalist on some big tracks in the Happy Hardcore scene.

Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

The best places to find out more about me and my music would be www.corinnajane.com, facebook.com/corinnajane and you can catch my music videos and live performances at youtube.com/corinnajane

Leave a Reply

