GET TO KNOW: Alonestar

How did you get your initial start in music

My initial start in music was  was in Newcastle for  the Sugar magazine Tour, i went on tour with them. Simon Webbe from the band “BLUE”  was managing me and he booked me on the tour, sugar mag was a teenage magazine that did a roadshow tour every year and I was modelling at the time with my very close friend and room mate Dan Corsi who was with models one and I was with Storm models.

It was overwhelming as I was performing alongside Busted and Blazing squad and the crowds were massive! We filled out whole shopping centres all over the country and Ireland! Was a very good way to learn and get comfortable performing on stage!

What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

I would  like to build my label “Eternal life” and production company “Urban Angel”  to  release independently with backing from  a major label and work out a partnership deal for myself as the first artist and then we can sign other acts we feel are right for the label. I have a really amazing team around me of producers, engineers, singers, rappers, managers, entertainment lawyers and I’m in close contact with artists from all over the world.

I feel record companies know what they are looking for because they have focused grouped it and they have demo graphed it, it’s been taking out of the hands of the artists and they are looking for something  to fit pre determined slots. I don’t want this,  I want my label to be about the artist, the music, music is about the spirit and I want my own and my artists music to live on forever hence the name of my record label.

How long have you been writing your own music?

I’ve been mumbling my own music since i was a baby, my first word was “Birdy” and my mum said I kept saying it singing a melody with the word.

Professionally I’ve made music since 2004. that’s when my first EP “Clipped wings” was written and released.

Who are your top three influences and why?

2pac Tupac shakur  – he taught me a lot through his music about raw human needs, expressions, art, and that you could be a tough young male and still write a song about your mother and how much you love and appreciate her. He made it gangster to love your mum, your family and be real and express how you feel in a climate that frowned  about that and saw it as weak. He had so much heart and talent even though he was a troubled haunted artist. His writing and the way he delivered his lyrics was like a preacher, the words just poured out of him and when you listened to his lyrics and his music it was / is so potent. he was a true artist! Rest in peace 2PAC.

Bob Marley is one of my favourite artists!  his music is so awesome and powerful! guiltiness is one of my favourite songs! He was a great revolutionist !

Bob Marley  said –   “Life is one big road with lots of signs. So when you riding through the ruts, don’t complicate your mind. Flee from hate, mischief and jealousy. Don’t bury your thoughts, put your vision to reality. Wake Up and Live!”

If you’re white and you’re wrong, then you’re wrong; if you’re black and you’re wrong, you’re wrong. People are people. Black, blue, pink, green – God make no rules about colour; only society make rules where my people suffer, and that why we must have redemption and redemption now.

– the greatness of a man is not how much wealth he acquires, but in hos integrity and his ability to affect those around him positively”

Do i need to say anymore?????!!!!!!

Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

My current release ‘Lovelorn’ I believe is my best work to date and I feel every human being can relate once they listen embrace the lyrics and hear what its about… the pain of love. Love is the most powerful feeling one can feel good or bad in my opinion.

Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

I’m back in my hometown of Bristol now, home to massive attack, Portishead, Tricky, Roni Size, Kosheen,  Laid Blak (shout out Joe Peng and dj Bunjy! 2 of the best in the game! a massive influence to me!)  Banksy DJ Derek (R.I.P) and myself.

We like it bass heavy in Bristol! A melting pot of sounds and fusions of all types of music.  I love my home town!  B-town is the best for arts, culture, music and expression for many reasons. my favourite venue is THE “ATTIC BAR” my friend vic runs it and always puts on amazing nights with amazing homegrown music and artist!

 Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

I’ve mentioned quite a few above but i love my ex label mates and good friends  “LAID BLAK”  such talented artist and musicians! DJ bunjy gave my cousin ED sheeran his first gig at the croft bar, stokes croft, Bristol.. Ed smashed it, and I went on after and performed my early work.. shout out OG DJ Bunjy and Joe peng! Bristol legends! I’m also working with massive attacks guitarist Angelo Bruschini an amazing guy and very talented musician / artist! we have some great music to release in 2017!

Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

Firstly thanks all  for reading, please check me out on itunes ,  you can listen & preview my music before purchasing.

Please come and say hi to me on social media… i love to hear from new listeners, followers and new friends!

soundclound.com/alonestar

twitter.com/alonestar1

instagram.com/alonestarphoto

facebook.com/alonestar

Live Hard, love strong!!!!!

AlonestarLOVE X

Leave a Reply

