Get to Know: Marilyn Carino

How did you get your initial start in music?

I studied to be a sound engineer in college and worked at that, then started singing in Western Swing and Jazz bands in San Francisco

What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

I guess to do exactly what I’m doing now, traveling around the world, collaborating with other artists who teach me things and make me a better musician but definitely my ultimate goal is to get paid better!

How long have you been writing your own music?

Since the 90s, even before I considered myself a musician. I had an endless parade of songs in me then and I still do.

Who are your top three influences and why?

Radiohead – for syncopation, songcraft and beautiful singing

Nina Simone – for all-round amazingness and sheer balls

Latin Playboys – their first album made me want to make everything lo-fi and weird, but also beautiful and purposeful

Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

It makes you feel like you’re wearing sexy underpants while eating your favorite meal your grandma made while tripping on mushrooms

Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

I have lived in Brooklyn for a long time but right now I live in Edinburgh. I needed a break from New York, and from the U.S., for many reasons besides the obvious. I fell in love with Edinburgh and Scotland in general while I was on tour there in September 2016. I rented a flat and I’m recording the followup to Leaves, Sadness, Science here. I’m also working with a couple of Edinburgh-based producers on a really strange and cool dance music project but I can’t say anything about that yet.

Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

In Edinburgh? I’m too new here, I haven’t seen much local music yet but I have seen and love Fiona Soe Paing, she is from Aberdeen and we’ve become mutual fans – we’re trying to figure out something we can do together.  But everything I’ve seen in general is fantastic. I particularly like the scene at Arthur’s Seat, but I guess that’s not what you meant.

Give our readers a roundup of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

Website, tour info, videos, press – marilyncarino.com

Stream and get VINYL – marilyncarino.bandcamp.com

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/marilyncarinomusic

Twitter and Instagram – @marilyncarino

Leave a Reply

