GET TO KNOW: Tsunami Section

How did you get your initial start in music?

Anna: I started when I was 10 years old. My parents used to always play music from big pop artists of that time especially Michael Jackson and Madonna. Their music was played everywhere in the house, in the car and I remember how much I was impressed as a kid by their music and the way they were performing, watching them on MTV.

It all started when I sang my first song and recorded it on tape. It was a song from a singer called Elisa. I recorded it on tape and I was playing it to my mum all the times and I loved being heard on that cassette player. It was then when I realized that I wanted to sing for the rest of my years. I started writing songs and recording them acapella, singing just the melodies and the lyrics. I was part of my school choir for some years. A few years later I was part of a musical team back in Italy where I was singing, dancing and acting. Until the day I moved to London. Since then I have been developing myself as an artist, performing in many pubs and music venues all over London. I went to college in here to study pop music singing and songwriting. After that I went to university to study sound engineering at SAE Institute London. I only just finished it.

Felicia: Locally, started a girl band in 2006 in India, after that performed individually in Calcutta, Delhi, Gurgaon.

What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

Anna: I want to write hit songs. I want to perform at festivals and collaborate with so many artists and music producers that have inspired me all these years. I would love to collaborate especially with Sigma, I love the kind of drum and bass that they make, they are so cool!

I listen to lot of different genres such as indie pop, dark pop, commercial pop, drum and bass, jazz, house, techno, reggae, experimental music and one of my goals is to make something that has an influence from all these genres but I want it to be still very unique, natural and especially very honest music, from the bottom of my heart.

Felicia: Ultimate goal is to be known for my music, and to be able to perform with the likes of Alicia Keys

 

How long have you been writing your own music?

Anna: I have been writing since I was a kid. I wrote my first song at the age of 13 and I never stopped since then. I always write, rather if it’s a song or just thoughts or feelings.

Felicia: I started writing in local language since 13

 

Who are your top three influences and why?

Anna: Michael Jackson, Madonna and Elisa.

Michael Jackson first he’s my hero I have been inspired by him since I was a kid and he has influenced my songwriting since then. I have grown up listening to his music while writing my first songs, so he automatically became my inspiration.

Madonna is my other hero, I have been influenced by her music in the same way Michael has influenced me. She is the queen, her music was giving me ambition, inspiration and hope in order for me to write and perform my own songs.

Elisa, she is an Italian singer who gave me the confidence to sing and record my first songs when I was a kid. Her lyrics have inspired me and helped me to release my creativity without fear.

Felicia: Alicia Keys is my idol. I feel her music is positive and inspirational

 

Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

Anna: The song has some dance and pop influences to it and it’s a simple and enjoyable song. Unfortunately I haven’t taken part on the writing of the song as someone else wrote it, but I am really honored to sing it and perform it.

Felicia: Written and produced by Ollie Fell-Holden, Daniel Spiller & John Robinson. The track explores the idea of karma and that whatever life throws at you, there will always be another chance, escaping the negative connotations attached to the theme of karma

 

Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

Anna: I am based in London. I have met so many musicians in the past years and I have had the chance to perform, to share ideas and to be friends with them. London is a big place and the music scene seem such a large network of people but at the end we all know each other. We are all connected. There are a few music nights which are known around here and if I meet someone in one of the nights I will definitely see them again at a different music night. We all support each other and I think it’s the best part of it.

Everyone is so different as well, everyone has their own music style which is a good inspiration, I love it!

I had the honor to perform at the Roundhouse emerging artists showcase, which was good! I would definitely say it’s one of my favourite venues.

Felicia: Based Shepherds Bush, very lively, a karaoke bar and a few pubs

 

Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

Anna: I would definitely recommend to listen to Jeremy Peter Allen, Soultronics Bailey and Yamin Alma, they’re just amazing artists with deep songs and voices.

Felicia: Not in touch with other musicians at the moment

 

Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

https://www.facebook.com/Tsunami-Section-1201228323325942/

https://twitter.com/TsunamiSection

https://soundcloud.com/user-903691670/keep-my-spinning-wheel

 

 

Leave a Reply

