GET TO KNOW: Adam Lanceley

How did you get your initial start in music?

Well, after a near fatal car crash which left me unable to walk for a long time & needing something to fill the void left by my inability to play competitive sport, my interests turned more towards the arts. That’s the start of what got me into the creative side of things, but I suppose it was a gradual process of circumstances that came together over quite a long time, like a friend from college being a sound engineer or a colleague at a job – who was already teaching me the guitar – encouraging me to start writing my ideas down & trying to put them in a song. Basically though, just plugging away & I’ve been lucky to meet the right people at the right time – hope it continues!

What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

Good question. I suppose for me, the ultimate goal is to leave my mark on on music. To leave a footprint on life that’s revisited whenever people hear my music & bring back the vibe they had when they first heard it.

How long have you been writing your own music?

Probably about 15 years. I’ve always had a lot of ideas in me that at first I was unable to express. At first I tried to do it through acting, but it didn’t really work for me trying to be someone else when I had so many issues of my own that I wanted to communicate with the world. It was after I left East 15 Acting School – 1 of the Centres of Excellence for Drama – that I realised I was more suited to saying what I had to say through music.

Who are your top 3 influences & why?

First & foremost, The Beatles. They were the group that really made me fall in love with music. When I first heard them, it was quite a difficult time in my life & I found strength in their unique sunshine sound. They have influenced my writing & production techniques a lot.

I think some of REM’s stuff is great! I love Michael Stipe’s use of metaphors & trying to figure out what some of his words actually mean. This has influenced my writing too.

Roy Orbison is another big influence on my music. I love his approach – where not being trained in music I think it gave him the licence to use unorthodox structures & writing techniques. This gave me the confidence to write by the principle: if it sounds good, do it!

Is there anything you’d like people to know about your current release?

I think that the less you tell people about what your songs are about the better! It’s good to let the listener interpret your lyrics & music in the way they want, in my opinion. 1 thing I do want people to know though is the single & the EP it’s off – ‘Back To The Sunshine’ – is a charity release with all net proceeds going to The Brain & Spine Foundation. They are at the forefront of research into the treatment of brain injury & after my own personal experiences of how traumatic the recovery can be, I think they are a charity well worth supporting.

Where are you based & what’s your local music scene like? Any favourite venues?

I’m from south west London & there’s quite a big music heritage here! The Olympic Studios were near where I’m from, where everyone who’s anyone used to record way back when… from The Rolling Stones to The Beach Boys & The Eagles – they all recorded in Barnes! There’s always something going on music wise in London. My favourite venue to play is ‘The Fighting Cocks’ in Kingston. This might have something to do with it being a venue Jimi Hendrix used to play when he was based in Kingston!

Who else can you recommend from your local music scene for people to have a listen to?

There’s always a wide variety of music in London. Whatever your taste your bound to find something that suits! 1 group worth checking out are ‘The Groove Monkeys’.

Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online & hear more of your music.

I have 5 studio albums that preceded this release. You can find them on most free stream or download stores if you just enter Adam Lanceley. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

