GET TO KNOW: Jake Aldridge

How did you get your initial start in music?

I started out when I was 17. My Father passed away when I was 11 and from that point on, I was always searching for a way to express myself and my emotions. Music became like my own therapy and I enjoyed the feeling of being creative. The positive reactions from people who heard my music spurred me on and keeps me going to this day, some 12 years later.

What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

My ultimate aim? That’s a good one, It’s never been about money for me but I guess my ultimate aim would be to make a living out of my music, even if it was just a small one. This way I could put all of my energy into it. It’s not easy to write and promote new music around a full time job, but i certainly do my best.

How long have you been writing your own music?

I’ve been writing my own music for 12 years. It’s gone quickly too. I’ve always written my own stuff and have never really considered covering other people’s. I enjoy the writing process too much.

Who are your top three influences and why?

My top 3 influences would be 1. Tupac Shakur. His work ethic inspired me and his authenticity did too. He was very much a lyricist and I loved that as well. Number 2 would be probably be Nelly. I love that he can seamlessly combine R&B & Hip-Hop, it’s something i try to do in my music as well. I love that he’s not afraid to sing on his tracks either. Number 3 would probably be Nas. I love how he’s never really steered away from the music and sound that he’s always been known for. He never sold out. His music is real and I admire that so much.

Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

Definitely, my new single is titled ‘Fireman’ and I honestly feel like it’s my best one yet ! It features Lisa Ambrose, who is a singer i’ve always loved and i feel truly honoured to be able to work alongside. The track also features production by Ninety II. He’s a producer from Bristol and he and I have been working together for some time now. We’re like Batman & Robin !! The track is set for release via ITunes, Spotify & Google Play etc on the 7th of April.

Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

I’m based in Suffolk and to be honest the local scene isn’t really geared up for my kind of my music but i try to get it around as much as i can. i’ve received great support from local people as well as the press here too.

Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

Definitely Lisa Abrose, Steve Moyse, Haleana,  Kelly Jenns and Kelly Brooks. I’ve worked with them all and they are incredible at what they do.

Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

The best place to listen to my music is my website – www.jakealdridge.com you can also sign up for my mailing list and receive some free tracks as well !!

Leave a Reply

