BULL FUNK ZOO – Interview

BFZ CD Launch-10

1. How did you get your initial start in music?

I loved music since I was really young, it was all the sounds, melodies, rhythms and sonics that triggered something in me, and some how I unconsciously knew  that I wanted to be a part of it. There was a lot of motown, james brown, earth wind & fire etc.. playing around the house and one day when during that period of my childhood, a rock concert came on TV and that blew me away. The whole aspect of playing the living hell out of the guitar turned me on, that it is where it really started. In my teens I was introduced to Metallica, Megadeth, Anthrax, Rage Against the Machine, The Chili Peppers and the whole grunge movement and that is where I started taking music a lot more seriously. I was always intrigued by song writing and to do that I needed an instrument and what more amazing of an instrument than the guitar. I Bought my first guitar when I was 16 and the rest is history.

2. What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

The ultimate aim, is to keep performing  a lot of live shows across the globe and keep writing, producing music I have so many ideas for different variations in different musical styles that it is endless.

3. How long have you been writing your own music?

Officially since I was 16, and prior to that I always heard songs in my head.

4. Who are your top three influences and why?

Frank Zappa, James Brown, Steve ray Vaughn.
Frank Zappa for his witty, complex, diverse, intricate and open sense of humour and I have a lot to learn from this genius. There is always something new and brilliant in his music and most importantly what he has done and the body of work he has left behind, which always leaves me in awe.

James Brown, for me is the king of funk! The grooves are timeless, the music always makes my heart pounce and just makes me dance, I always have the need to listen and feel the movement wether it makes me nod my head a long or makes me just want to get up and mosh or simply dance.

Stevie Ray Vaughn, what can I say one of my biggest guitar influences of all time, the soul and tone behind his feel and playing  just destroys me.

5. Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

The current release is the first single/music video of the upcoming album.  All the elements of the song and the rest of the album, I have performed, written, and engineered. “Would You?” Is about people who don’t take risks in pursuing what they are truly passionate about, because they fear they will not succeed in what they are truly passionate about. Every person has a unique form of individuality and have something special to share because of it, why not share it and pursue it without fear.

6. Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

Im currently based in Dubai and the local scene is progressing. One of my Favorite venues would be The Music Room.

7. Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

From the metal scene: Benevolent, Svengali, AKB. The funk scene: Carl & the Red Mafia. Rock scene: EYE

8. Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

You can find me on:

Like on Facebook
https://www.facebook.com/bullfunkzoo

Follow on Instagram: @bullfunkzoo
https://www.instagram.com/bullfunkzoo

Tweet: @bullfunkzoo

Youtube:
https://www.youtube.com/bullfunkzoo

Website:
https://www.bullfunkzoo.com

Soundcloud:
https://soundcloud.com/bullfunkzoo/bu…

Bandcamp:
https://bullfunkzoo.bandcamp.com

For bookings please email:
info@bullfunkzoo.com

Leave a comment